Saturday, 15 October 2016

#BookReview A Forgotten Affair by Kanchana Banerjee

A Forgotten Affair

A Forgotten Affair is the debut book of author Kanchana Banerjee. It is a romance,drama book published by Harper Collins and is widely available on online stores ,kindle and at the bookstores, published on 25th August 2016.
The cover page of the book is very simple and subtle having two flowers which depicts that love is simple and elegant.Though, as compared to other romance novels the cover page is dull but nevertheless it is sweet. The cover page design is by Harper Collins Publishers and cover image is by istock.
The  story is set in Mumbai and Gurgaon . The plot of the book is very realistic and simple. It is a story of Sagarika , who walks out of her nine year old marriage and is a victim of Mumbai bomb blasts and goes into coma. After six months she gets up with no memory of her past and meets her husband Rishabh who takes her to an unfamiliar address in Gurgaon. The characters are very interesting , each having some dark past behind.
The  author has written the story very descriptively filled with drama , thrill and suspense which keep the reader hooked to the book.The language is very simple and easy to read. Its a very different story from the usual romance stories which was expected while picking up the book.
Overall , it is a gripping and a fast paced story and an interesting read. 
I would recommend to those who are highly interested in simple story with an interesting and a dramatic plot.

Image result for 3.5stars

About the Author 

Image result for about the author kanchana banerjee

Kanchana Banerjee is a freelance writer with almost 19 years of experience. She has founded Writeword to help people learn about freelance writing. She has written various articles for various publications , PR firms and companies for nearly two decades. She holds a masters degree in English from Jadavpur University, Kolkata and lives in Gurgaon with her husband, son and two dogs. 

Stalk her at Twitter:

* I received a free copy from Writersmelon in exchange for an honest and an unbiased review.

Follow me on :

Happy Reading!

Thursday, 6 October 2016

#BookReview : Dissent by Deepak Kaul

Dissent by Deepak Kaul is a collection of 11 short stories which is available on kindle. The stories were written for the Write India Campaign by The Times Of India between July 2015 and  May 2016. Prompts for the stories were provided by the young bestselling authors such as Amish Tripathi, Preeti Shenoy , Ashwin Sanghi, Chetan Bhagat and others  for which short stories had to be submitted. The book involves author's submissions for the eleven prompts. 
The cover page of the book displays a man walking on a path which is lonely and can be connected with the various stories in the book.The stories are: Dissent, Hell's Angel, All in, L.C.A, Mirage, Taboo,Void, Queens of Hearts, Love Jihad, Karma Agni, and How Blue is my sapphire.The stories by the author are of  different themes related to society and in each and every story the protagonist is lonely and  suffering. Some of the stories are full of suspense which makes the reader to read it till the end. 

However, the style of writing and dialogues are quite simple but it's a light read. It is highly recommended to those who want to read short stories.

Image result for 3 stars

About the Author
Deepak Kaul is a Chartered Accountant by profession specialising in international tax. He has over 20 years of work experience of which 12 years were spent overseas in Singapore and USA. He has always been fond of reading and writing is his aspirational hobby.
Follow me on

* I received a free copy from WritersMelon in exchange for an honest and an unbiased review.


Happy Reading!

Tuesday, 4 October 2016

#Book Review Scion Of Ikshvaku (Book 1) Ramchandra Series by Amish Tripathi

A bare-bodied Rama points to the sky with a bow and an arrow towards a flying vehicle

Scion Of Ikshvaku is the first book of Ramchandra Series from the author of Shiva Trilogy , AMISH TRIPATHI . The book is Fictious mythology published by Westland Ltd and is widely available online , kindle and at the bookstores , published on 22 June 2015.
The cover page of the book is very beautiful , designed by ThinkWhy Not . It looks historical in which a man is aiming his bow towards a drone or the Pushpak Vimaan.
Scion of Ikshvaku is  a modern version of the famous historical epic Ramayana in which the author has brought the history as well as the modern world in a single story. The story is set in various places such as Ayodhya, Mithila etc.
The characters are from Ramayana . Ram is the main protagonist of the story ,but is assumed inauspicious to his father Dashrath since birth. The author has introduced all the characters in the beginning of the story.
The author has written the book marvelously , giving the details of each incident very nicely and has used various nice Sanskrit  quotes. He has given a new life to Ramayana from the modern eye. He has brought his imagination to a perfection and his style of narration is amazing .
The book is highly recommended to everyone those who are interested in reading mythology. 

Few quotes from the book:

“I guess what I'm trying to say is that I want a woman who is better than I am; a woman who will compel me to bow my head in admiration.” 

“Sometimes, truth causes pain and suffering. At such times, silence is preferred.” 

“There is something positive hidden in every negative, and something negative hidden in every positive. Life is complicated, and a balanced person can see both sides.” 

Image result for 4 stars

About the Author

Amish Tripathi Author.JPG

Amish is a 1974 born IIM(Kolkata) - educated, boring banker turned happy author.The success of his first book The Immortals of Meluha , encouraged him to give up a fourteen year old career in financial services to focus on writing. He is passionate about history, mythology and philosophy , finding beauty and meaning in all world religions. 
Books by the author:Shiva Trilogy (3 parts)
                                 1. Immortals of Meluha
                                 2.The Secret of the Nagas
                                 3.The Oath of the Vayuputras

Stalk him

Follow me on  

Happy Reading!